Fanfiction – Or, How I Learned To Write

Fanfiction gets a bad reputation from many, including George R.R. Martin and my own dad. They dismiss it as “lazy. ” As in “go write your own stories you punk kid!”

Let me tell you, there is nothing lazy about writing three 100k+ word novels. And that is exactly what I did when I was in Heroes fandom in high school, along with ~25 short stories, and 5  novellas. I clocked in probably 600,000 words in the span of three years.  And you can bet I became a better writer for it.

No, I did not learn how to create believable original characters, but I did learn how to write realistic speech. I learned how to take some deep, meta looks at the psyches of fictional people, and how to write arcs of growth, and how to create chemistry between characters.

True,  I didn’t learn how to world build….but I learned how to plot.  Writing fanfic is how I designed methods for outlining my books. It taught me to research topics I was unfamiliar with.

Stylistically, I was in peak shape at age 17. I could write anything at the drop of a hat because I knew my voice that well. This is partly because I was exercising my author muscles, but also because I read so much fanfic.  I read for hours every day and I guarantee that had an effect.  I stopped reading and writing fiction in college, and my style has suffered for it.  I’m not sure I’ll ever be as good as I was at 17.

I should mention that I did not start writing with fanfic.  I had several original works-in-progress from ages 6-14, including two completed screenplays and one completed book (called The Flying Chameleon Club. It did not actually involve flying chameleons). But for the most part, I hardly got past Chapter Two on any WIP because I had no clue how to outline. Fanfic did not spark my interest in writing, but it taught me HOW to write, and how to actually finish books.

In writing Paradisa and The Shadow of Saturn, which were my first original projects since I was 14 and the first writing I’d done in 3 years, I did realize things fanfic didn’t teach. Creating my own sandbox is hard, for one.  Editing for querying is also much more involved than editing for the free fanfics I was posting online. But if I didn’t have those half million words of fanfic between my childhood and now, I would probably be on the same path of unfinished WIPs, nonsensical plots, and hair-pulling. And I would be so lost with the whole process that I’d probably give up over and over again.

So thank you, fanfiction :* You made me the opposite of lazy – a person who has finished novels instead of someone who wants to write them “someday.” ^_^

3 thoughts on “Fanfiction – Or, How I Learned To Write

  1. I am so much in agreement with you. Writing fanfic definitely made me a better writer, and I learned so much. I’ve looked at my pre-fanfic writings and they are awful, almost unsalvagable. I credit fanfic a lot of expanding upon my English and writing knowledge so much that I can definitely admit I’m a better writer because of fanfic. So it’s really frustrating when writers dismiss it or even mock it. They have no idea the amount of growth that can be achieved with writing fanfic.

    And yes, writing original characters is challenging, but even in fanfic we learned to do that… I would say.

    So much word to this post!

    • Yes! It seems like the people who dis it, and fandom in general, are people who don’t understand it. They think of it as a replacement for originality rather than a stepping stool to it. Not to mention the feedback one can gain through the network of Internet fandom. I was too afraid of copyright infringement to post my original fiction online, but my fanfic could garner honest feedback from dozens of people.

      And it’s a great way to meet friends and fellow writers who will be your biggest fans when you start publishing XD

      Also, yeah, I definitely threw some original characters in a few of my stories. So that wasn’t entirely lost during that time.

Leave a Reply

