Now what?

One of the hardest things to do during “beta month” is figuring out what to do with my free time. I’ve spent every free moment since November pouring effort into Paradisa. Writing Goliath was a nice thing to pick up once my novel went into beta, but that’s done too.

So now what?

Although I plan to write two more books in the Paradisa world, I have resolved that my next book will not be for Paradisa. No use writing those sequels until the first book has publishing promise. Additionally, I’d like to stretch my range by doing a different sort of story entirely. I am torn between two ideas for my next novel – one is a magical realism ‘dramedy’ a la Night At The Museum or Stranger Than Fiction. The other is a dark work of metafiction that’s basically Black Swan meets the NYC interactive play Sleep No More.

I’ve also got a half-finished fictionalized memoir called The Shadow of Saturn, which is about my time at NASA. If I ever finish that one, I’ll probably just self-publish.

Maybe I could tinker with more short stories and submit to various fiction mags. It would be nice to have a publishing credit or two!

There is, of course, the possibility that I could do a film project instead. But since I’m hoarding money for a down payment on a house,  and LASIK too, my purchase of a Black Magic Cinema Camera will have to wait. And thus, any cinematic ventures that come with it.

At this point, all I know is that it’s going to be a very creative year….and hopefully I’ll have another novel by December 31st to show for it.

Leave a Reply

