Movies I’m Looking Forward To In 2017

Before the end of the  year, I will update my 2016 Movie Scoreboard. I still have to check out Rogue One and Passengers before I can complete it, so that’s the hold up :) On the whole, there were many surprises and a general lackluster performance by many movies on the card. But, that doesn’t deter me from 2017. I’d like to share a few of the movies I’m anticipating most!

Everything Super Hero

Most of the superhero movies coming out next year look excellent, and from all studios. Obviously Marvel Studios does a great job and will have surefire hits with Spiderman Homecoming, Guardians of the Galaxy 2, and Thor Ragnarok. But FOX has finally course corrected their X-Men Universe after Deadpool, and they’ve put out some really promising trailers for Logan – the final appearance of Hugh Jackman as Wolverine. The film will have an R-rating and a much grittier, less-CGI treatment of the character. It looks like Logan will be a hardcore deconstruction of itself…and it’s about time.

I’m also cautiously optimistic about Wonder Woman, which looks both beautiful and compelling. I am less enthused about what I’ve seen of the Justice League film so far, but could DC finally have a year of winning after so many false starts? At least with The LEGO Batman Movie, WB has one guaranteed win.

(I just love that we live in an era where Hollywood can produce a sarcastic Batman movie. What a time to be alive)

Old Dogs, New Tricks

It’s the era of the reboot, and 2017 will be no exception. I think Disney has finally figured out how to make their live action fairy tales good – and yes, it requires them being musicals. So, I’m really looking forward to Beauty and The Beast…especially when that’s one of their strongest stories to adapt anyway, and Emma Watson is the best Belle you could ever cast.

4-year-old Michelle is really digging what they’re doing with Power Rangers. Movie could turn out to be kinda dumb, but hey, the nostalgia factor is there.

And then we have King Arthur, a tale so old and retold so often that it might as well be trapped in stone by now. But if anyone will breathe new life into King Arthur, it’s Guy Ritchie, who has Guy Ritchie’d ALL OVER the trailers for it.

I am far more cautious about the Ghost In The Shell remake, as there doesn’t seem to be much respect of the source material. Maybe it will be pretty?

What are we on now? Movie #8?

We’re also in the era of sequels. And sequels to sequels. Not that this is always a bad thing. Will we figure out who Rey’s parents are in Star Wars Episode 8? (More importantly, will we find out if Finn and Poe are going to be a thing, because I need answers). Why the heck is Dom Toretto going evil in The Fate of The Furious? How many octopus zombie dogs will take a shotgun to the face in Resident Evil: The Final Chapter?

And the biggest question of all – will the planet FINALLY go to the apes in War For The Planet Of The Apes? (Spoiler alert: apes win.)

Oh, another – are we sick of Captain Jack Sparrow, or will Pirates of The Caribbean 5 remind us why we fell for the scallywag in the first place?

Awesome Directors – Roll Call!

Two of my favorite directors have standalone original features coming out this year. From Christopher Nolan we’ve got Dunkirk, a based-on-a-true-story war movie that goes beyond his normally speculative wheelhouse. Then, Luc Besson brings us the stunningly vibrant Valerian and the City of 1000 Planets, which basically looks like what Jupiter Ascending tried to be.

Book Adaptations

We are rather light on book adaptations this year. There hasn’t been a huge YA sensation since The Hunger Games, so books-to-movies have petered off a bit. But we still have an adaptation of Dave Eggers’ The Circle to look forward to. Also, the very long-awaited Dark Tower movie, starring Idris Elba!

A Few Surprises Thrown In

Every year has the possibility of a breakout hit. I predict the virus-in-space flick Life could do it. I’m also keeping my eye on Gore Verbinski’s A Cure For Wellness. M. Night tries to regain his dignity with the kidnap thriller Split, which shows my boo James McAvoy exhibiting about 22 different personalities. Edgar Wright – creator of the almighty Cornetto trilogy – has a new comedy called Baby Driver coming out this summer. And while I would have overlooked Cars 3 entirely a few months ago, that visceral trailer did pique my interest.

What movies are you looking forward to this year? I think 2017 will be pretty solid. Hopefully it will redeem some of the blandness from 2016!

 

 

One thought on “Movies I’m Looking Forward To In 2017

Leave a comment