A Good Start To April

As I said last week, I handwaved March and vowed to get myself together in April. Unfortunately, my body decided that it was not done being sick and that I was going to have a clogged sinus valve of some kind that left my eye pussing for three days and a constant pressure system roaring in my skull. Luckily my sinuses got their crap over with quickly, and I was (mostly) back on my feet by April 1st.

So I’m feeling pretty good. I’ve made strides on some projects. I also got to feel the validation of a few completed tasks as well. That always does my motivation good.

  • The Shadow of Saturn: I need to write 50k words this month to finish my first draft, which is basically NaNoWriMo. And hey, it happens to be camp NaNoWriMo this month, so maybe I should sign up! I’ve already logged 1200 words, and pretty much have to write 2000 words , 6 days a week, to keep up with this goal. No easy feat, but not impossible either. When I wrote the first draft of Paradisa, I was pushing out about 3600 words a day. Hard to believe I ever managed that!
  • Video Business: Almost done with the website. Need to order business cards this week, and make a couple demo reels. I was randomly shooting things with my new DSLR and can hopefully compile that footage into a sizzle reel.
  • Animation/Webseries: So, I haven’t spoken much about this, because I don’t like to talk about projects that are only in the idea stage. And this was a project that, despite my excitement, seemed too ambitious for my skill set. However, I have officially moved past the “in my head” stage to the “I have actually accomplished a kernel of possibility”, and I’m ready to start track this project officially ^_^ Having downloaded Fallout 4 on PC this weekend and leafed through its resource files, as well as tinkering in Source Filmmaker, Silo 2, and the Unity/Cry/Unreal engines, the idea of doing a fanseries is actually within reach…because as much as I’ve moved on to original properties, you can’t take the fandom out of the fangirl :P. More on this later, but I’ll spend most of this month trying out various programs and reassembling a few of the game assets in them. Maybe by the end of the summer, I’ll have a proof of concept together to show off to the fanbase.
  • Indie MoCap: I let this slip last week because of my illness, but I tried out Twitter Promotion and gained 25 followers over the weekend – much more than I anticipated. Not sure it was worth the money, but I guess it was a worthy experiment.
  • Kindle Shorts: Changed my keywords again for Book #1, as sales slipped again. You can check out my first monthly report here, where I break down stuff that worked and stuff that didn’t. I finished Book #2 yesterday, so I’ll publish that early this week.
  • Reading: I’m halfway through Rollback, so maybe I’ll get to 4 or 5 books this month.

Just need to catch up on Dead Air, Paradisa, and the two short stories I plan on writing this month. I still want to make that Cecil B. Demille story happen. I just don’t know where I’m going to go with it.

Cheers to a good April, folks!

 

8 thoughts on “A Good Start To April

    • Thanks! Honestly, the sched isn’t so bad when you look at how I space it out. Sundays are when I do my Kindle writing. Mondays are video business, Tuesdays are Paradisa, Wednesdays vary, Thursdays are animation, Fridays I take off entirely, and Saturdays are whatever I feel like in the moment. I write the Shadow of Saturn every day, usually for about an hour, and I also read before bed for about an hour.

      Then some stuff gets accomplished – and this is kind of my big cheat – in down time at the day job. Namely, Indie MoCap’s articles and my literary submissions.

      When I have even a shred of energy, it actually works out well and isn’t strenuous. I doesn’t allow much time for distraction though, I’ll admit.

  1. Glad you’re feeling better. Tough to be productive when we’re under the weather.

    I’ve never done any Twitter promotions for followers. Not even sure what they entail. I just pick up followers as they come.

    • Thanks! It sure is.

      Yeah, Twitter said I could expect 4-7 followers per day, so a total of 8-14 across the two days I did it. I ended up with 25, which was a big surge. But it looks like only half of those are really relevant to what my Twitter is about. And I tend to pick up 1-2 per day anyway. It cost $15 per day for 2 days, so I’m not sure it was worth it. Maybe if I was running a Kickstarter or promoting a book, but not just for the sake of collecting followers.

      • It seems I get several new followers a day, but it’s getting quality ones that’s a different issue. A lot of them seem to want to follow only to unfollow shortly after–just to increase their followers/following ratio. That’s annoying. Ugh.

  2. I’m glad you’re feeling better. that does not sound like it was fun. Ugh.
    I’m constantly astounded by your productivity and projects. Wow! Kudos!

  3. Reading your updates is both inspiring and depressing. It’s good to see that it’s possible to have a full time day job yet let your creative self soar. On the other hand, it reminds me how lazy I’VE been over the last month… Oh well. Glad you’re feeling better :)

Leave a Reply

