The Random Tag Questionarre!

Thank you to my new friend Magechild, who nominated me for The Random Tag! It’s an opportunity for bloggers to answer questions about themselves and then ask those questions of readers by “tagging” them.

Random Tag

1. What is your favorite food?

Off the top of my head, I don’t really know. I have a weakness for sweets of all kinds, though.

2. What are you having for dinner tonight?

Whatever Austin decides to cook. Probably chicken, as he saves pasta and shrimp for Fridays during Lent.

3. Who was the last person you emailed?

My mother. We were trying to figure out what time to meet and caravan over to the Bush rally (quick recap: George W. Bush had some interesting things to say about what it’s like to be President. I believe there are only 5 current or former American Presidents alive at the moment, so to be in their presence is certainly rare. And I dunno, hearing about what it was like to hold that office, straight from a man standing in front of me, was far more profound than seeing him on TV or on the radio. It’s like the difference between hearing a rumor and hearing a first person account. I think I regained a lot of respect back for him when he talked about all the pressure, and how you have to live with both the good and the bad choices….man, you could not pay me enough to do that job. How do Presidents sleep?)

4. What sports do you do?

Lol, no.

5. Do you have any pet hates?

My biggest pet peeve….that forgive me, is about to become a rant….involves inviting people to events on Facebook. If I invite you to a community event that you might be interested in, I won’t be offended if you ignore it or decline it. I would hope that goes both ways, as those sorts of invites are usually “let’s invite my entire friends list” and are not targeted at me or you specifically.

But if I invite you to my home for a small party because I consider you a legit friend, you better have the decency to send a response. Even if that response is “no”. Even if that response is a “I want to come but there’s this other thing I might have to go to” or “Gosh, thanks for inviting me, but this week was exhausting. I just want to be a homebody tonight.” I am an introvert too, so I get it. But I’ve had so many people straight up ignore me, or hit “maybe” with no other comment. People are so afraid of “conflict” these days….geez. I promise I’m not going to bite your head off if you don’t want to hang out with me. Believe me, I’m far more pissed when I make extra food and buy extra booze for people who don’t ever show up. As introverted as I am, I strive to give people a straight answer about whether or not they can expect me.

Overall, there is far more honor in honesty than in passive aggressiveness, even if you’re using your honesty to tell me that I’m a garbage person you don’t want to be friends with :P

6. Do you play any instruments?

I am musically inept, unfortunately. Austin has 100% of the musical talent between us.

I’m not tagging anyone specifically, as some of my friends were already tagged by Magechild and most others don’t really do tags/memes. but if you’d like to take this on, feel free!

5 thoughts on “The Random Tag Questionarre!

  1. I can relate to #5, though I wonder if people are afraid of conflict or if our attention spans are just really short and forgetfulness is responsible for the lack of replies. However, speaking personally, I can tell right off the bat if I want to go to an event, and if so, whether my availability works for said event. I don’t see the point in delaying decision-making if you’re 1) certain that you’re interested/not interested and 2) know your schedule for the coming week/month. What’s worse than hate? Indifference. Respond with an “I’m not interested”, and I’ll thank you for it.

    • That’s me too. I instantly know “whoa, 9pm downtown on a Sunday? Not happening” or “that clashes with my mom’s birthday” pretty much as soon as I see the event. In my friend circle, I think a lot of them are just introverts who have committed to plans in the past but then regretted it the day of. And perhaps they think that saying “maybe” relieves them of responsibility if they flake out.

      I just don’t have much sympathy for that, though. I am a major introvert myself. I don’t socialize much or go out on Friday nights. I am (as you well know!) bogged down by work and I don’t like getting behind on it. But you know, I care about the relationships I’ve made. Maybe I care because I don’t have as many to cherish as other people do. Maybe other people can afford to take their friends for granted, but I can’t. If someone wants my attention, by God, they’re going to get it. Part of being a good friend is being there for people you care about even when you’re not at 100%….mostly because no one is ever at 100% lol. I’ve gone out plenty on nights I could barely leave the couch, because when I don’t want to be known as flaky or undependable. I want to be the friend that always comes through.

Leave a Reply

