The “To Be Read” Shelf Quiz!

I am really feeling the love this week! Another interesting survey that I was tagged in. Maybe it’ll give some insight into how my crazy brain reads ;) This one comes to me from Alicia of Cyborg Knights.

How do you keep track of your TBR pile?

I have a Goodreads for books that people randomly recommend to me that look interesting. I have my Amazon Wishlist as well, particularly because I have Kindle Unlimited now (and I can only have 10 books on my shelf for that at one time. Boo. So the wish list is overflow!). I also have a physical “to be read” shelf at home, where I keep books that are next in line for me to read.

Is your TBR mostly print or eBook?

Goodreads can go either way. My Amazon Wishlist is mostly ebook though.

How do you determine which book from your TBR to read next?

This is probably the most interesting question for me. I try to read from three different books every month – a nonfiction book that helps me research my writing in some way, a modern book that gets me in touch with “what’s out there,” and a classic that rounds out my literary cred. This month is a little weird, because I’m reading three modern pieces – The Martian, The Maze Runner, and JJ Abram’s S. But next month will The Encyclopedia of Demons as my research piece, probably House of Leaves as my modern piece, and The Complete H.P. Lovecraft as my classic. Spooky selections for October!

A book that’s been on your TBR list the longest?

Probably the Bible, to be quite honest. I’ve been trying to get through that thing since I was six and still haven’t. You might also throw in Dune, American Gods, and Paradise Lost. I’ve wanted to read all of those for a long, long time.

A book you recently added to your TBR?

I bought Gail Z. Martin’s Deadly Curiosities at the used bookstore, because it takes place here in Charleston and I will see Gail at AtomaCon in November! I added The Girl On The Train to my Amazon Wish List last week and Throne of The Cresent Moon to my Goodreads most recently.

A book on your TBR strictly because of it’s beautiful cover?

These Broken Stars was brought because of its cover. (Although I did check the reviews first.)

A book on your TBR that you never plan on reading?

There are probably several. Anything that’s been spoiled by a person or a movie adaptation becomes low priority. At this point, I will probably never bother reading The Hunger Games.

An unpublished book on your TBR that you’re excited for?

The Heroes Reborn novellas. YES. I believe they start coming out on Thursday.

A book on your TBR that everyone has read but you?

A Game of Thrones. I like the show, ya’ll. But I have no need to know the complete history of Westeros right now.

A book on your TBR that everyone recommends to you?

People don’t recommend books to me very often. But one friend really wants me to read The Iron Druid Chronicles.

A book on your TBR that you’re dying to read?

Man, there are so many. I’ve been dying to read all my October selections for awhile. But scrolling through Goodreads reminded me how much I want to read Severence, which is a short story book about the last thoughts of severed heads; God’s War, which is a sci-fi book on a semi-Muslim planet by the amazing Kameron Hurley; Wool, by my fellow CofC grad Hugh Howey; and Cosmicomics, a brilliantly themed short story collection by Italo Cavino.

How many books are on your Goodreads TBR shelf?

*cough….203….*cough*

***

Since I already tagged a bunch of people a few days ago, I won’t bother with that today. I extend this tag to anyone who wishes to participate.

And in personal project news, I officially have my 10 betas all signed on. Woot! I also finished my read-through of Paradisa and now I have 270 comments to clear up in the next two weeks. Eek. Well, I’ll do the best I can in that time and we’ll see how much I get done.

Have a good day!

10 thoughts on “The “To Be Read” Shelf Quiz!

  1. Ah, the impossible to finish to-read list. Some I list on Goodreads; some I buy and leave on my shelf (whether real or virtual shelf); others I store in my mind. But the one thing that remains consistent is I can never get to them all. Sigh.

    Interesting to read about the ones that are on yours. :)

      • I feel douchey to agree, since YA gets so much hate, but you are spot on. So much YA is written in a very….inelegant way.

        I’m not saying it’s a bad genre, since a lot of really good stories do lurk in YA, but I wonder if editors don’t keep a high bar on the writing quality because they feel like teens won’t notice? It’s a real shame. I also feel like the timeline for YA is way rushed and maybe Dashner and co. don’t have as much time to really make the writing the best. Teens have shorter attention spans and a shorter window of being YA marketable, so these authors can’t let more than a year go between releases.

        So I blame the editors and publishers more than the authors. I’m sure Dashner knows he could do better. He just isn’t given the chance.

      • Mhm, I feel bad for saying it because I love the genre. But if I was completely honest, I don’t think the writing is where it needs to be. I don’t read YA expecting to be blown away by the beautiful prose, yet so many books would benefit greatly from another round of editing. I think you’re right. Those are probably the reasons behind the lowered standards.
        Yeah, I see the potential behind Dashner and other authors to churn out great stories that are well written.

Leave a Reply

