Would You Rather – Writer and Reader Addition (from aspiringwriter22)

Questions taken from asipiringwriter22‘s blog this week. Check her out to see what she said, and feel free to answer these questions on your own blog! These were taken from both her “for writers” and “for readers” posts.

Would you rather only write standalones or trilogies?

Trilogies, probably. I have a few standalones in me, but I’m just more passionate about my  universes that have series potential.

Would you rather be a professional writer or a professional blogger?

I said “pro writer” at first, but I think pro blogger would be more fun because it would allow me to work from home and do something interesting without interfering with my passion projects. Never do a passion project for money, unless you want to ruin it for yourself.

Would you rather hand write or have to type for the rest of your life?

Type! No question.

Would you rather be forced to write everything in uppercase or lowercase letters?

Lowercase. I’ve known a few people who only wrote in lowercase, actually.

Would you rather only write 2 pages per day or 250 pages per week?

250 would certainly make me more productive.

Would you rather be traditionally published or self published?

It depends on the project, honestly. I’ve been doing a lot of research on starting a self-published erotica and nonfiction business. I think self-publishing benefits those markets and will yield the biggest returns. But for novel-lengthed fiction, traditional publishing is still king. The audience is just not there for it in the self-published market right now. Even in the self-publishing manual I was reading this weekend, the guy admits that his methodologies would probably not work well with novels.

Would you rather only write in pen or pencil?

I adore pens. Especially colored pens.

Would you rather only be allowed to write at your desk or anywhere else in the world?

I could happily spend the rest of my life writing exclusively at my desk.

Would you rather only read trilogies or only read standalones?

When it comes to reading, I’m fine with both, although most trilogies/series these days are overbloated stories that could have been accomplished in one or two books. I find that standalone books usually leave me wanting more, and series books leave me wishing the author would just get to the point.

Would you rather only read male or female authors?

I don’t really have a preference, although I think supporting female authors is important.

Would you rather shop at Barnes and Noble or Amazon?

Amazon is where I buy pretty much everything. I love browsing in B&N, but everything is way too expensive to buy. I get most of my books from the local used book store.

Would you rather books were made into TV shows or movies?

Movies. Again, I find TV shows often have bloat. Most books don’t translate well to a serial format either. Unless you’ve got a series the length of A Song of Ice and Fire to work with, I don’t see how long a TV Show could last with much things. However, I am super excited about the A Series of Unfortunate Events series that Netflix released a trailer for today. I wonder if they’re going to simply cover the relatively short series, or expand beyond the books and come up with new stories to tell post-“The End.”

Would you rather read only 5 pages per day or 5 books per week?

5 books a week would definitely be more productive.

Would you rather be a professional author or reviewer?

Professional author. My opinions are probably too unpopular to be a good reviewer.

Would you rather be a librarian or a bookseller?

Hmm. A librarian probably has better pay/benefits.

Would you rather read only your favorite genre, or every other genre but your favorite?

I think it’s important to have variety, so every other genre. I’ve also found that I’m really picky when it comes to my favorite genre (fantasy), and I’m more in tuned to the tropes, clichés, etc. of it. It’s actually more difficult for me to enjoy fantasy novels, despite it being my favorite thing to write.

Would you rather only read ebooks or physical books?

I could give up ebooks.

One thought on “Would You Rather – Writer and Reader Addition (from aspiringwriter22)

Leave a Reply

