I’m alivvvvvve!

I have a confession – I write my posts at work a lot, if not all the time. And work has been busy. Hence, why I have not kept this WordPress going in recent weeks. I’ve been a bad net-friend, not even keeping up with my reader much.

But hopefully that will calm down soon! Or at least, eventually! Work is just hectic as we’re trying to tie up some loose ends before the new year. When the next quarter begins in January, I hope to start some new projects and have steadier days.

Congrats to everyone who won NaNoWriMo yesterday! I hope your goodies are super nice this year. As you know, I ditched it around the 7000 word mark and went back to work on Paradisa. I’m proud to say that I’ve put quite a bit of work into Paradisa over the past couple days, and I feel like my momentum is building back. Just in time for life to get really hectic, eh? :P Listening to music has helped inspire me a lot this time around. Battle sequences are the hardest thing to write, and I’m currently doing a full rewrite of my Act II battle/seige….but the new stuff is pretty sick and has a very obvious “flow” to it. It’s not just action/fighting, it’s characters navigating their plotlines through a battle, so I have a lot more to say about it. The words come more easily. Figuring out fifteen inventive ways to say “she swung a sword” is hard, but this particular part hasn’t been….that.

Anyway, link me to any of your posts I may have missed! Like I said, I’ve been crappy at commenting this past week in addition to neglecting my own blog. And hopefully, I’ll be around more this month! I have a few “favs of 2014” list I plan on throwing together, if nothing else.

5 thoughts on “I’m alivvvvvve!

  1. Some weeks are just not conducive to blogging. December is a tricky month. So much going on. My November was that way, too. I’m hoping for a return to normalcy in January, but life has a way of thwarting our plans, doesn’t it? :)

    • I think the Internet in general slows down during the holidays. Too much to do! But I think we’ll bounce back come January. The winter is a slow time with nothing to do except stay inside :P

  2. I didn’t win NaNo… :-(
    But on the plus side I was reading through my novel and I believe I had found and fixed a major plot hole. Yeah, me! So I have committed what may be one of a fiction writes cardinal sins. I stated editing the first part of my novel and not simply did not keep pushing on.

    One of my great fears, Michelle, is that I might have bitten off a bit much to chew. North of the Fox is a political commentary/ dystopia and, well now it seem a bit larger project that I was thinking. Oh well…

    I’m really happy that Paradisa is coming along. It seems like you must be in at least a rewrite and editing mode. Best of luck in the coming year with it!

    • Aw. Well it’s good that you fixed the plot hole though! And I don’t think going back and rewriting is ever a bad thing if you have the mojo for it. Personally, doing that would throw off my groove, but we should go where our muses take us.

      I find that doing research usually helps shrink the scale of my projects if I feel like they’re “too big” for me. A lot of times if I’m working in a new genre or dealing with a world I’m not familiar with, taking a few days to research helps flex my brain. I tried to write an industrial espionage script awhile back, knowing nothing about the stock market, hostile takeovers, or industrial espionage! But talking with investment savvy/business savvy people, as well as reading lots of wikipedia articles, helped me push past those walls. Eventually that became my short story Goliath, so I threw out 90% of that story in favor of a minimilist approach. But hey, it was good practice.

      Paradisa’s edit has actually been steady! Not as quick as I’d like, but I’m finishing about a scene per day. About 25 scenes left to wrap up now. Ideally it’ll be done by the 1st, but we’ll see :P I have a big Christmas break coming up and hope to use that time to write.

Leave a Reply

