Anything But Writing

I don’t feel like I’ll write much in October.

I need to. I need to finish my edit of Paradisa before Halloween and I need to build an outline for my NaNoWriMo novel Wake (the summary for that novel is now up on my Manuscripts page, btw).

But I’ve got two other things pulling away at my attention. Two other creative projects with actual deadlines.

1. The Gamora Costume

I don’t always cosplay….but when I do, it’s ridiculous.  My first and previous endeavor was Sweet Pea’s leather/suede riveted topstiched jacket of nightmares from Sucker Punch. Grandma was almost entirely responsible for getting that one completed in 4 weeks. But this time, I want to do it myself. I want to take on a good project, a complex project, that is still within my skills.

I adored Guardians of The Galaxy. And as much as I’ve said “I’ll never do body paint,” I can’t resist Gamora’s BAMF assembly.

Step one: Be green.

Seems legit.

I’m attending two conventions this autumn – the Geek Gala in Charlotte on October 25th, and my own convention AtomaCon in Charleston on November 14-16th. Halloween is coming up too, so I’ll have three chances to wear this costume. I’ve already ordered most of the supplies – at least for the actual costume. I’m not putting 100% faith in myself yet, so no accessory supplies for now – and UPS is hurtling them towards me as we speak. Hopefully it’ll all be good. It’s hard to distinguish colors, textures, and fabric types from online pictures.

Anyway, most of my work will be altering pre-made materials, like pleather leggings. None of the fabrics should be too difficult for my sewing machine. I will be using Worbla for the first time, but I’ve heard it’s a pretty straightforward compound to work with. The hardest part may be silk printing the details, but I haven’t decided if I’ll be going that route. Silk printing is complex and expensive. I may handpaint the details instead.

Still, it’s going to take time. I will be working on this costume for most of my weekends and a lot of my weeknights through October 23rd.

2. The Chinese Theater Gingerbread House

Every year, James Island Festival of Lights has an open call for gingerbread houses. I participated in this as a child and won several times. The prizes are summer passes to the water park, which is useful. But I always had a dream of submitting a Mann’s Chinese Theater gingerbread house to James Island, and that goal never manifested.

So this is the year. If it turns out super well, I may even drive 4 hours to Asheville and submit it to the National Gingerbread House contest (hey, I could win $5000!). This is taking a back-burner to my Gamora costume, and it may take a back-burner to my writing, but I hope that I have enough free time to pull it together. Gingerbread houses are almost as expensive as cosplay is. Not much is going into savings this month, I’m afraid!

On top of all that, my interest in drumming has picked up some too, especially as Austin becomes more proficient on the viola. But I’m putting my foot down. Becoming a rock star can wait. At least starting back November 1st, I’ve got a novel to finish. Or two.

8 thoughts on “Anything But Writing

    • I’ve been hoping to make it for YEARS! It’s very detailed, but I think I can do it. And I’ve never seen anyone else attempt it before. If it’s a bit shoddy, it’ll go to James Island. If it’s good, it’ll go to Asheville. At least it has a place either way :P

  1. Hello! I’m planning to do Gamora cosplay too ( that’s how I found ), so I’m looking forward to seeing your progress! What kind of boots do you plan to wear? Also how long I’m looking at her hair I’m still not sure of its color and on ebay they sell not good looking wigs, so I’m curious, which one you chose to buy too :)

    • Hiya! I have some leather boots that I’m going to adapt. Gamora’s boots are very strange and probably cannot be bought without some modification. Gamora’s heel is a wedge with a hole in it, so I’ll remove the heel of my boots, get my woodworker Grandpa to help me carve a new wedge, and then I’ll glue those on. Her shoes also have weird offset leather flaps and buckles. I bought some thick leather to make removable “boot covers” that I should be able to buckle on. Here is a pic of hers to give you an idea of what I’m talking about –

      I’m not going to do a wig, personally. I have elbow-length brown hair naturally and I’m going to use a combo of purple and black spray-in hair dye (they sell it at Halloween stores for about $3 a bottle. You may also be able to use Manic Panic but I’m not sure how well that works!) It sticks in for the night and then washes out with shampoo :) This is just the plan for now though and I haven’t done a test run of it yet!

      If you really do need a wig because your hair is short/blonde/whatever, this probably the most decent wig I’ve found online so far. You might be interested in it?

      http://www.halloweenexpress.com/gamora-wig-p-27432.html

      • Wow, I see that you’re planning proffesional cosplay, since you’re already so prepared even to small details :) I’ve reddish hair so wig is a must-buy, so thanks for link :) nice idea with spray-in, I’m curious how it will look like :D

      • I’ve never really tried my hand at this before, so I probably won’t actually pull off the professional level, haha. But I’m detail oriented, so I really can’t help it. At least there will be an attempt!

        No idea what spray-in color would look like in red hair, so perhaps a wig is your best bet. I’m not even sure the pink/purple spray-in will show up well in my brown hair, but hopefully that’ll work.

Leave a Reply

