Trusting The Muse

This week, I’ve worked diligently on my Draft Five Outline, whose self-inflicted deadline (Friday) approaches. I had quite a rush yesterday as I worked out the basic chapter-by-chapter outline, because the book in this outline is so different than the one I’ve spent eight months writing.

No hard feelings, muse. I realize that I could not have discovered this version of the story without having shluffed through the four previous versions. I could not have discovered it without a decent version of the story to share with others and collect their input. I could not have created streamlined, simplified antagonists without throwing everything at the wall and seeing what stuck.

Writing is building, destroying, and rebuilding. I think very few of us get it right the first time.

So, I have half a book to rewrite, which means a lot of work is ahead. And I’m excited. I’m excited to look at this world with fresh eyes, to open up a plot that can take ten different turns in every scene, to write scenes that have more potential for amped drama with just a bit of imagination. The pacing is up, the suspense is higher, and I think the characters are going to be more enjoyable too.

When I stand in front of a 50,000 word rewrite, it’s hard to trust the muse. Is this worth my time? Have I already written a good book and maybe I’m overcomplicating it? But I do trust it. Because this is the first time during the construction of this book that I’ve thought “yes. this is it. this is what will take the novel from a beach read to a breakout.”

This draft will probably take me twice as long as I originally anticipate…but I can’t wait to see what it looks like in the end.

Leave a Reply

