Welcome!

June has been a month of much progress, and that progress has inspired me to get professional about my writing :) In this month, I have achieved two milestones –

  1. After four months of mulling and seven months of writing, I finished a draft of my first original novel, Paradisa, that is ready for beta reads. Last Saturday, I sent the book out to 7 people, and I’m quite enjoying the feedback process so far! It’s fascinating to hear how different people respond to the story. I’ll probably post a lot about this process over the next month, and progress on Paradisa in general.
  2. I completed a short story for submission to a wonderful anthology, Athena’s Daughters II. This anthology, and its predeccessor, were funded through a massively successful Kickstarter. All stories are about women, by women, and I’m thrilled to submit to it. I might not get in, but it’s certainly worth a shot! (The story is called Goliath, by the way, and is inspired by my time as a NASA intern. I got a very inside look at the space industry during those 10 weeks, including a tour of Space X).

For those who don’t know me, I’m a 22-year-old dye chemist in Charleston, South Carolina. I’ve been doing that since I graduated from the College of Charleston in 2013. Filmmaking is probably my first passion, which lends a cinematic/visual approach to my writing style. But, I’ve been writing fiction since I was 6 years old, so it’s still pretty familiar ;) I still have the five “novels” I wrote back then, which I might transcribe here someday for fun.

I’ve also got a lovely boyfriend named Austin, and my biggest fan/best friend Alyssa, who I may talk about on occasion. I frequent a lot of sci-fi conventions like ConCarolinas, Dragon Con, and Star Wars Celebration, and am the co-founder of Charleston’s new AtomaCon! My mom is a 10+ year convention  staff veteran, so I’ve been going to cons since I was 7. I’m really grateful to have been raised in the con community! I wish I could get into cosplay, but the writing takes up too much of my time right now :P

Stay posted, darlings! Thanks for checking out my corner of the internet.

Leave a Reply

